Follow by Email

26 setembro, 2006

Press release from The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

133 candidates nominated to the 2007 Year Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

133 candidates from all over the world are nominated to next year’s Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award. In total, 52 countries are represented among the nominees. All together 104 candidates have been nominated in the category of author/illustrator/storyteller, and 29 candidates in the category of promoting reading (organisations/projects/persons).
The list of candidates is available on the award website:

Nominating bodies from around the world were invited in January to take part in the nominating process for the 2007 award. Next year, the prize will be awarded for the fifth time and the interest to participate in the process is increasing. A number of nations are participating in the process for the first time this year: Bolivia, Nigeria, Puerto Rico and Sierra Leone.

The jury will now work through the nominations until March next year, when the announcement of the award winner for 2007 will take place.

The 2006-year’s award winner was the American author Katherine Paterson.

Read more about the award and the nomination process on

Larry Lempert, Chairman of the award jury
Phone: +46 (0)70 463 12 20
Anna Cokorilo, Director, The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award
Phone: +46 (0)8 519 264 00/08, +46 (0)70 602 51 15
E-mail: <
Helene Komlos Grill, Information Officer, The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award
Phone: +46 (0)8 519 264 00/06, +46 (0)73 360 46 94, fax: +46 (0)8 8 264 99

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, established by the Swedish Government in 2002, is the world’s largest children’s and young people’s literary award. The annual international prize of SEK 5 million (equivalent to approx. USD 680,000, 540,000 Euros) may be awarded to authors, illustrators, narrators and promoters of reading whose work reflects the spirit of Astrid Lindgren. The object of the award is to increase interest in children’s and young people’s literature, and to promote children’s right to culture on a global level. The award is administered by The Swedish National Council for Cultural Affairs. Moreinformation: <
Every year the jury invites nominating bodies from around the world to suggest candidates for the prize. The nominating groups are organisations and institutions with good overviews of authors, illustrators, storytellers and activities that encourage reading in their countries or regions. Every country in the world may make a nomination. The award jury also has the right to suggest candidates. No groups or individuals may apply for the prize or nominate
themselves. A list of the qualified nominators can be found at
This year’s recipient of the award is the American author Katherine Paterson. Last years award winners were the Japanese illustrator Ryôji Arai and the British author Philip Pullman. Prize winner 2004 was the Brazilian author Lygia Bojunga. The award winners for 2003 were Austrian author Christine Nöstlinger and American illustrator and author Maurice Sendak.
Informação recebida via ANILIJ

Sem comentários: